Top 5 Characters You Hate – Top 5 Wednesday ( #T5WFamily )

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey on youtube (linked below), and every Wednesday there is a new top 5.. this weeks is Top 5 Characters You Hate. This is quite fun to do.. makes you think back to various books and why you hated someone so much! I guess the Authors are doing their jobs for eliciting such strong emotions from us!

I am going to go from least hated of my characters to most hated. Here We Go!! I am sorry if there are any spoilers.. I tried to keep this spoiler free.

 

1) The White Wolf – Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy

Man was he volatile. Just completely horrid. Especially what he does to Karou in Book 2 – Days of Blood and Starlight. I wanted to destroy him myself. I flinched quite a bit during his scenes.

2) Amy and Nick Dunne – Gone Girl

Anyone who has read this book will probably easily identify with this. I do not want to spoil anything for people who haven’t read this fricken amazing book.. because everyone should. It is that good. I have never hated 2 main protagonists and loved a book so much. It was a weird feeling! But I am pretty sure I went through all colours of emotion during this book.

3) “Ben” (aka Mike) – Before I Go To Sleep

What a crazy. This book was only so-so for me.. but “Ben” had the creep factor from early on.. and the last 150 pages had me hooked and his crazy went full on insane. Poor Christine =(

4) King Leck – Graceling, Fire, & Bitterblue (Graceling Realm)

Creepy almost from the moment he was born, Leck had a disturbing Grace. I won’t go too much in to detail for anyone who hasn’t read these amazing books. Leck would torture, mutilate poor helpless animals and leave out in the open for someone to find, and then he would take them in to fix them and seem like an amazing King who takes care of animals. He uses his Grace for bad and this forces his wife and daughter to flee. Reading some of his scenes were hard.. I would flinch or scrunch my face up.

5) Professor Umbridge – Harry Potter and The Order of The Phoenix.

Geez Louise, how I hated this woman.. More so than Lord Voldemort. Reading the book, watching the movies, Imelda Staunton played this character perfectly. The sickly sweet, nasty woman that she was. With her ‘special’ quill to punish students, to throwing professors out of the school.. and she did all this because she truly thought it was the right thing to do.  Her being in this books, made Professor McGonagall and Harry Potter both a little bit sassy. My favourite being…

‘Is it true that you shouted at Professor Umbridge?’
‘Yes,’ said Harry. ‘You called her a liar?’ ‘Yes.’ ‘You told her He Who Must Not Be Named is back?’ ‘Yes.’
Professor McGonagall sat down behind her desk, frowning at Harry. Then she said, ‘Have a biscuit, Potter.’
‘Have – what?’ ‘Have a biscuit,’ she repeated impatiently, indicating a tartan tin lying on top of one of the piles of papers on her desk. ‘And sit down.’

Let me know in comments some of your most hated characters!

Brianne – xox.

Here is a complete list of Wednesday Top 5er’s

https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/1608567-complete-list-of-wednesday-ers

Here is Lainey’s booktube channel

https://www.youtube.com/user/gingerreadslainey

Leave a Reply

