Top 5 Wednesday – Top 5 Hardbacks Without Dust Jacket – ( #T5WFamily )

Welcome to another installment of Top 5 Wednesday!

This week is, Top 5 Naked Books… meaning Hardbacks without Dust Jackets! So my pictures will include the naked book, with the dust jacket beside it for comparison. I specifically used books that had a different hardback than what was printed on the dust jacket.

Let us be off! (These aren’t in the order I like most, but by size of books..)

1) Geek Wisdom – The Sacred Teachings of Nerd Culture by Stephen H. Segal

Screen shot 2014-06-18 at 7.58.08 PM

I got this as a gift from a friend, and he was making up a little bag full of stuff he thought described me or had a particular meaning about me that he thought up.. and also included note explaining what each was.. This was one of the most personal gifts I have been given. I didn’t give him any ideas.. I had no idea what to expect and I hold this gift close to my heart.

2) To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han

Screen shot 2014-06-18 at 8.09.14 PM

I am not a pink girl.. I did not know what the book itself looked like.. the dust jacket is quite girly.. and I was surprised, but more so by how much I liked the shade of pink used.

3) The Glass Sentence – S.E. Grove

Screen shot 2014-06-18 at 8.08.33 PM

This book just.. the dust jacket is made of this super thin material.. but both the dust jacket and naked book are beautiful.

4) The Shadowhunter’s Codex – Cassandra Clare and Joshua Lewis

Screen shot 2014-06-18 at 8.10.06 PM

Man.. this hardback is the weirdest material I have ever felt on a book.. I don’t even know how to describe it. But I loved the shading and the Mortal Cup. There are pictures on the inside covers as well that are beautiful.

5) Frankenstein – Mary Shelley, Illustrated by Gris Grimly

Screen shot 2014-06-18 at 8.10.49 PM

I just love Gris Grimly’s illustrations in this book. They are haunting, and beautifully done. I thought the cover was actually really cool.

Here are the spines of the books.. because they need some love too..

Screen shot 2014-06-18 at 8.06.30 PM

And for extra credit.. This book doesn’t have a dust jacket but it is extremely beautiful..

Well Read Women – Samantha Hahn

Screen shot 2014-06-18 at 8.05.15 PM

The portraits in this are watercolour and are stunning.

Well there you have it!

What are some of your guys’ favourite hardbacks without dust jackets?

May The Book Be With You

Brianne – xox.

Here is a complete list of Wednesday Top 5er’s

https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/1608567-complete-list-of-wednesday-ers

Here is Lainey’s booktube channel

https://www.youtube.com/user/gingerreadslainey

Leave a Reply

