A Darker Shade of Magic – V.E. Schwab Excerpt Preview Review

Screen shot 2015-02-21 at 5.34.20 PM

My Rating – 5/5

eBook, provided for review from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

V.E. Schwab (Victoria Schwab) HAS A NEW BOOK COMING OUT!

meme-excited-2-300x240

This was me when I found out.

Read the synopsis over at goodreads

V.E. Schwab has an amazing imagination. I read her three other books in 2014 and I knew that she had become one of my top authors. In the summer of 2014, she tweeted details of her new upcoming book and I knew it was going to be just as amazing.

I was lucky enough to get an arc excerpt of the first 5 chapters and when they ended, I literally squealed. Her imagination and attention to detail, along with building fascinating worlds and characters who you actually get attached to is amazing.

In ‘A Darker Shade of Magic’ we are introduced to Kell. He has a magical coat. Yes, a magical coat. Well, a peculiar coat as Kell called it.
“It had neither one side, which would be conventional, nor two, which would be unexpected, but several, which was, of course, impossible.” This is the second line of the book and this is the line that hooked me. I needed to know more.
But not only that, he can travel to various London’s.
Grey London is boring, very few remember that magic existed.
White London is ruled by mad twins, and the throne is won by whomever kills to get it. Magic is fought for. People want to control it.
Red London is where magic flourishes and is respected.
Black London does not exist anymore because the need and want for magic ended up creating chaos.

Kell is an Antari – a blood magician. “Antari could speak to blood. To Life. To magic itself.” Kell is one of the very few Antari left who can travel between the various London’s with correspondence between the rulers of each London. Nothing else is allowed to go between worlds. It a rule.

Lila dreams of becoming a pirate. But to do that, she has to masquerade as a male.. a sneaky, pickpocketing male camouflaged by a wide brimmed hat and a mask . But she doesn’t steal from the poor, she steals from the rich. Her voice is very distinct. She resonated with me because I was a tomboy growing up. I didn’t like to follow conventional male/female gender roles. I wanted to play hockey whereas my sister wanted to dance.

The excerpt ends with Kell and Lila both running from something, and then eventually literally in to each other.

I wanted, and needed more. This book did not remind me of anything else I had read, and that is why I loved it so much.

ariel

If you like Victoria Schwab, then read this book.

If you want something like nothing you’ve ever read, then read this book.

If you want a cross-dressing wannabe pirate, then read this book.

If you want a guy who has a peculiar coat, can travel between London’s, and has secrets, then read this book.

I can’t say it enough. READ THIS BOOK!

May The Book Be With You

Brianne – xox.

Leave a Reply

